Raised By A Witch – Interview with Lincoln Crisler.

Posted: August 14, 2011 in Paranormal
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Copyright Tracy DeVore


Lincoln Crisler is a husband, a father and a Staff Sergeant in the U.S. Army,
currently serving his third deployment overseas. He is also an author, published in horror, science fiction and fantasy.

Tracy DeVore: Hi Lincoln. You say you were introduced to the occult when you were around eleven years old. How exactly did that happen?

Lincoln Crisler: My mother is a Witch, and says she has been all her life. Since I was a little kid, she’d always had spell books around, a couple of handwritten binders, herbs, candles…all that good stuff. Quite fascinating to any child, but I hadn’t discovered religion of any sort until about a year before that, when my mother decided to start going to Catholic Church again after my father left.

Being introduced to religion for the first time at an age when a kid asks a lot of questions…well, I did a lot of exploring, and my mother taught me a few things, [such as] meditation and a little candle magick, mostly. She did forbid me to read the books, but they were out in the open and I snuck them into my room while she was sleeping. Most of them were pretty tame, Gerald Gardner-influenced Wicca and the like. She had lots of friends who practiced magick, too, so even though I didn’t take part in most of their workings, I saw a lot of things and heard them talk about even more.

TD: Tell me about the “demonic possession” you witnessed. What happened, what role did you play, if any, and what made you believe that it was actually a demonic possession?

LC: I was in my room reading a book, because my mother and some of her friends were doing some kind of meditation or spirit walk in the living room and asked me to leave. About half an hour or so into it, I heard screaming and what sounded like a fight. I ran out into my living room, and two strong dudes were fighting as hard as they could to pin down a third guy’s struggling, screaming, hundred-pound-soaking-wet girlfriend. Those dudes were giving it all they had and were barely controlling her. She just freaked out in the middle of whatever they were doing and went after her boyfriend. Her voice didn’t sound like her own. My mother told me they had it under control, and the girl did start to calm down after a minute or two, so I went back to my room. Later on, the girl said she had no memory of any of it.

Now, I wouldn’t put my hand on a stack of Bibles and swear to Sweet Baby Jesus that this was a demonic possession, but my mother and her friends said it was, so at the very least it was the closest thing they could relate it to. I’d seen my mom and one of her friends go into trances and talk with other voices on more than one occasion, but this was so radically different, what with the violence and memory loss. I’m the most skeptical believer on the face of the Earth, but what I can tell you is that whatever it was, it would have scared the hell out of anyone.

TD: You read auras as a child. How did you discover you had this ability? Can you explain how you started the readings and why you stopped?

LC: My mother showed me how. She had me look at people and then close my eyes and visualize them. Sometimes, I could see a glow around their image and my mother had a list of colors and meanings in one of her books. I wasn’t exceptionally talented at it, but it was fun and I was right more often than I was wrong. I guess I stopped doing it because I was more interested in other things, like spells, crystals and tarot cards.

TD: Were you embarrassed to tell your school-aged peers about your ability?

LC: Oh, no. I talked about Witchcraft with my friends, I had crystal and stone pendants that I wore to school. When I was older, I brought Witchcraft books to school. I attended a Catholic high school for my freshman year and was ‘invited not to come back next year.’ I had a few friends that were into the occult as well, but I also caught a healthy dose of crap for being a ‘weirdo’ too.

TD: As a teenager, you used Tarot cards. Was this for your personal use or did you offer readings to others? How successful was this and why did you stop?

LC: I did Tarot for myself and others for a few years, from the time I was in high school until shortly before my second marriage. I’ve always viewed magick in terms of science, and the tarot in particular as a tool by which the subconscious can communicate with the conscious mind through symbology. Reading for myself was always a huge pain, because I didn’t trust myself to be objective in my interpretations, but I’d do it if I didn’t have another reader to help me, and I got pretty good results.

When I was deployed to Iraq, I did a lot of Tarot. I ran an eclectic open circle on my Forward Operating Base that included people of my skill level or better plus some brand new people, so I did readings for others and taught people how to read.

When I read for someone else, I sat them down, had them shuffle the deck, and did my reading one of three ways: the traditional Celtic Cross, the three-card Past/Present/Future spread, or I’d just flip over and read cards one at a time until I felt blocked or the other person had the answers they were looking for. It got to the point where people were pulling me aside when I was off shift and asking me to sit with them for an hour and read their Tarot because they had a problem. I was pretty much doubling as a counselor at times. I felt really good about it, and some people were really amazed at the insight I had.

I stopped because it just kind of phased itself out of my life. My wife doesn’t read, none of our friends do and I moved to another duty station away from the open circle I used to attend. I gave up the Witchcraft and started going to church again in 2005, and while I can reconcile reading cards with my faith (remember, to me it’s science, not magick!), I just haven’t run with the same crowd. I kind of miss reading Tarot, the intimacy of it and how good I was at helping people, and I might get into it again sometime.

TD: What do you feel was your main psychic strength? Do you believe you still have that ability, or do you believe time and non-use have diluted it?

LC: My main psychic strengths have always been meditation and probably Tarot reading. I think I still probably have it. I was good at both of those things right from the get-go, practicing and teaching, so it’d probably be like riding a bike.

TD: What advice would you give others who think they might have psychic abilities? Would you give different advice to children than adults?

LC: Overall advice: If you think you have psychic abilities, try and get in touch with someone who can help you, and do a little research in the local community before deciding on a teacher. I had one friend who wanted me to meet this ‘High Priest’ she’d hooked up with. Turned out his main interest was in naked chicks, not the occult. Take heed – there are a lot of decent people in the paranormal community, but just like any other, there’s scum, too.

Don’t let anyone tell you you’re a freak, or that you’re evil. If the voices in your head are telling you to shoot the president or rob a bank then yeah, get some help. But if you’re talking to spirits or doing remarkable things with a set of runes or a deck of cards, there’s nothing inherently evil about that. I’m a Christian and I’ll tell you that I don’t think there’s anything Satanic about it, unless you’re into that sort of thing and make it part of a satanic rite or something. You’ve got that gift for a reason. Maybe it really is a message from the other side, maybe you’re just really in tune with your subconscious mind. Either way, that sounds like an exciting adventure to me, as well as a good chance to explore and learn more about yourself.

Especially for children, but for adults who are new to their abilities as well: Don’t try and learn too much by yourself, and don’t just sit in your room doing random stuff because it sounds fun. A little Tarot never hurt anyone, but as I’ve indicated earlier in this interview, some things can just get out of hand. If you really just want to be a solitary practitioner, for your own sake, wait until you’re competent and mature and even then, have a couple of people you can talk to if something happens that you’re not sure about.

TD: Thank you, Lincoln.

If you’d like to learn more about Lincoln Crisler, visit his website at http://lincolncrisler.info.


Comments
  1. […] was somewhat of an acolyte, but there was no formal group) up until the age of sixteen or so. I did a pretty in-depth interview a couple years ago, where I discussed a lot of this stuff in greater […]

Leave a Reply

